The Kohala Center

Community members of all ages are invited to join in our upcoming Hoa‘āina Stewardship Days! These guided, half-day work days are designed to deepen our connections with Kohala’s natural and cultural landscape and share in mālama ‘āina (care for the land) in this place we call home.

An evolution of our former KWP Volunteer Days, Hoa‘āina Stewardship Days set intention to cultivate hoa‘āina (loving caretakers of their land) by creating space for learning and meaningful exchanges between people and place.

We begin by looking to Kaulana Mahina, the Hawaiian moon calendar, to guide our activities based on generations of kilo (environmental observation). Drawing on ancestral knowledge and the environmental conditions we observe, we will engage in appropriate hana (work) that effectively and lovingly cares for Kohala’s native forests.

Upcoming Hoa‘āina Stewardship Days (all times 9 a.m. to 1 p.m., dates subject to change):
Saturday, February 22 – registration now open!
Saturday, March 21 (registration opens March 9)
Saturday, April 11 (registration opens March 30)
Saturday, May 30 (registration opens May 18)
Saturday, June 20 (registration opens June 8)
Sunday, July 19 (registration opens July 6)
Saturday, August 22 (registration opens August 10)
Sunday, October 4 (registration opens September 21)
Saturday, November 7 (registration opens October 26)
Saturday, December 12 (registration opens November 30)

Space is limited, so mark your calendars and plan on registering in advance! Sign up online at koha.la/hoaaina-register or call us at 808-887-6411. Details on where to meet and what to bring will be provided in an email upon completion of registration. For more information, please contact Kaimana Chock at kchock@kohalacenter.org or 808-887-6411.

Mahalo,
The Kohala Center

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this:
Skip to toolbar